First Impression Friday – The Lonely Fajita by Abigail Mann

Here’s a little Friday something called First Impression Friday hosted by J W Martin.

First Impression Friday is a meme where you talk about a book that you have JUST STARTED! Maybe you’re only a chapter or two in, maybe a little further. Based on this sampling, give a few impressions and predict what you’ll think by the end.

The Blurb:

Lonely Fajita: a person who is suddenly and unwillingly single.

It’s Elissa’s birthday, but her boyfriend doesn’t seem to care much – and she’s accidentally scheduled herself a cervical smear instead of birthday drinks.

Then there’s her borderline-psychotic boss, the fact she’s not making but losing money at her internship, and her sinking feeling she might not really be in love.

At least you can’t be lonely if you’re not alone. Right?

But Elissa’s just-good-enough existence is about to change, with single life, redundancy and homelessness all on the horizon. Signing up to live with an elderly person in return for free bed and board suddenly looks like her best option.

Elissa has no idea that Annie will turn out to be a woman of secrets and swearwords, and that living with her is about to shake up everything Elissa thought her twenties should be…

Hilarious, moving and painfully real – the perfect book for fans of Mhairi McFarlane and Sophie Ranald (from Goodreads)

First Impressions:

I only needed to read the words “perfect book for fans of Mhairi McFarlane” and I was compelled to request this one.

As a massive fan of Mhairi’s wit, I am always on the lookout for writers with a simliar style. And this book is perfect so far. Exactly what I was hoping to find when I picked it up.

I love a book that can make me truly laugh out loud….and laugh I have been.

Thoroughly entertaining; this book was an easy choice as a pick-me-up read after a week-long migraine.

Thanks to the publisher for the ARC via NetGalley. Full review to come.

One thought on “First Impression Friday – The Lonely Fajita by Abigail Mann

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s